Excellence in Education Foundation

Giving back to enhance and ensure a stronger future.

The Charles City Excellence in Education Foundation was established in the early 1990's as a tool to help assist in the educational process and to benefit students of the Charles City Community School District. CCEEF has been gaining significant momentum over the past few years. Because of several well attended and highly successful fundraising events, CCEEF grants made during 2013 will reach record levels. Below, you will find the mission, vision, board members, and information on the foundation.  If you are interested in donating to the foundation, please click on our Foundation Brochure. All donations are tax deductible, as the foundation is a 501(c)3 corporation.

Several projects have been funded by the foundation, and we are striving to generate more funds to enhance the education of students beyond the normal educational budget.  If you are interested in learning more about the foundation, please do not hesitate to contact: Dr. Dan Cox at: or 641-257-6500.


Charles City School District Foundation Mission Statement:

To support the Charles City School system providing enhanced opportunities for students and staff through grants, scholarships, and support for special projects.


Charles City School District Foundation Vision Statement:

To partner with the Charles City School system, community, alumni, businesses, and individuals to provide enhanced opportunities for students and staff beyond traditional sources.   

Foundation Mini-Grants:

Since the 2010-11 school year, the Foundation has granted out over $16,000 to staff and students to expand educational opportunities. The grants have included technology integration, field trips, pieces of equipment, etc.  The grants have been paid from the fundraising efforts that occurred during our annual event.  Click here to go to the newest application form for the foundation's mini-grants.

Foundation Hall of Fame:

The 2013 Foundation Hall of Fame Candidates were inducted at the Annual Dinner and Event on April 20, 2013.  The honorees were (Click here for Inductee Biographies):

Robert J Eggert (1922-2011), CCHS Class of 1940
Karen M (Eggert) Paget, CCHS class of 1962
Leo J. Schula, (1913-1995), Educator and Mayor
James A. Erb, CCHS Class of 1959
Rhoda (Huxsol) McCartney, Community Volunteer
Ralph Farnham McCartney (1924-2007), Judge, Legislator, Lawyer

The foundation had the distinct honor to induct the inaugural Foundation Hall of Fame Candidates at the April 2012 Annual Dinner. The following were the inductees (Click here for Inductee Biographies):

Dorothy Chapler Coacher
Dan and Sally Frudden
Phyllis Frudden Meyer
Gayle  Johns Rose
Donna Field Stewart

Each year, the foundation will induct members into the Foundation Hall of Fame.

Foundation Active Board Members:

Doug Bengtson: President Margie Jensen
Wendy Johnson: Vice-President Charley Thomson
Kurt Herbrechtsmeyer: Treasurer Bill Frye
Anna Burnham: Secretary Chuck Staudt
Roxanne Carey
Rick Jansen

Ex-officio Members of the Foundation Board: Dr. Dan Cox and Anna Burnham.